Dark Space Low

We met winter 2009

but We knew of Each Other

long before

I let the years out

and after that

We became acquainted during

new sleepless nights

when You would whisper

my greatest fears and doubts

into my ready willing heart

 

Nobody knew You really

least of all i who

You knew best

and hated most

because i let you be

 

eventually You burnt away

all my dead wood and

i believed i was stronger for it

but there was nothing to defend from

You were already here

 

and when i

with the help of Many Others

realized you could

not be killed but

could be locked away

made quiet

I managed to

 

 

for a time

I forgot you were lost

 

 

and after years of you

raving through the now empty

barren

corridors I locked you in

You found a way back out and

I didn’t expect you there

on the fourth of july

when We laid in bed and

listened to illegal fire works

and You

shouting now

told Me

solutions to problems I

didn’t know I had yet

insisting of course that

Your way was the only one

 

 

then six days later

You were stronger than ever

strength born out of validation

but

so was I

strength born out of necessity

and fear

 

 

so we dragged Each Other slow

You cast me into that Dark Space Low

where You and I always talk

and I pushed you

with all my fury and regret

into a New Space

of Self reflection and

backward Certainty

Leave a comment